Viking Hood À La Skjoldehamn

As Pennsic is upon us and I’m digging through my wardrobe I begin to realize that I don’t have one basic item that most people should have in their inventory: a hood. Now there are all kinds of hoods throughout our time period but I have been on this kick lately of actually trying to complete an entire outfit. What a novel thought!

skjold_hood3My choice was pretty much made for me when I saw my friend’s pattern for a 3-piece Viking hood. Geometric shapes and only 3 pieces? What a piece of cake! I had this golden yellow wool that I had found on a remnants table at a local sewing shop which I thought would do the trick nicely. So I began my search online for something to give me a hint at dimensions for this. This was probably the step that took me the longest time, to tell you the truth.  I happened to fall upon this particular article in Adventures in Reconstructing History by Lady Kate.

I followed her measurements and made a rectangle of 14 inches x 52 inches and two squares of 14 inches x 14 inches. It’s a fairly easy sewing project and I was able to whip it up in 30 minutes or so. The fit on me (5’9″ , 47″ chest, broader than average shoulders for a woman) is a touch snug but not unwearable. The head part of the hood is plenty spacious though and I’m quite pleased with it overall. I plan on making a linen one…after Pennsic and I will probably make that one 15.5 inches to give me a bit more room.

In the mean time I’m looking for images of Huginn and Muninn (Ravens of thought and memory) that I would like to embroider on the front of the hood. Pictures forth coming!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Ramblings of The Titanium Don

Explorations of Conscious Reality Creation and Other Matters

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Calligraphy Pen

The Calligraphy Blog

Creativity From Chaos

Trials and Triumphs

Nyce and trewe accounte of Alesone, sugarwricht

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Life in a Southern Castle

Join Me In The Adventure!

Leofwyn's Adventures

Lady Leo's adventures in the Middle Ages and beyond

East Kingdom Gazette

Covering the Eastern Realm of the SCA

scribescribbling

A scadian scribe's experiences

Ca' d'Oro Salone

Renaissance Salon and Historical Apothecary

Anachronistic and Impulsive

Anna's Rome: A View of Ancient Rome and Byzantium in the Current Middle Ages

Rekon's Workshop

Medieval arts and how to make them

My Project Place

A place for me to keep thoughts, images, and information on my many grand costuming projects

