Post Baby Garb

So I know it’s been a while since my last post but I think you can expect many more soon. After having my second baby, a healthy girl, none of my garb fits. Not only that but I need to remake or fix a lot of the stuff I have. It’s a bit aggravating but after child birth your body changes and, well, my garb is now looking like it was made for someone else. In a sense it was I guess.

I started on updating my wardrobe last night by making the first piece of my Persian outfit. I did my research and while striped fabric wasn’t often used in period other than for the lower classes it was what I had on hand. 100% Cotton teal stripe, a fabric I picked up a few years ago as an impulse buy. I figured that I would find a use for it eventually and I was right! I figured that the finished pants would be light weight and comfy enough for both summer and winter events. I followed Rashid’s pattern for 16th century Salwar pants for my first attempt which I’ve put below:

 I followed the instructions with no changes (always a good idea for the first time around) with one exception: I didn’t guess on the measurement for the ankle opening. Instead, I measured around the heel and top of my foot, at the ankle, while my foot was pointed. As if I was putting on pants. Since this pattern works on a fold I simply halved that measurement and drew my diagonal line to there. I also upped the thirteen inch  rise measurement to fifteen since I am taller than the average woman. In the end I don’t think that it was necessary but better to be safe than sorry the first time around! While I did measure in the recommended way, I feel like the pants are a little long. I may shorten the rise on the next pair or modify these if they I find that they’re too long. I need to get some input from someone who makes them on a regular basis.

Today I’ll start working on a kamiz using Rashid’s pattern for a 14th century Kamiz/Pirihan. I’m using slightly thicker material than would be ideal but we’ll see how it goes! I’ll post pictures of the pants soon!

Categories: Kamiz, Pirihan, Post-baby garb, Salwar | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

The Ramblings of The Titanium Don

Explorations of Conscious Reality Creation and Other Matters

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Calligraphy Pen

The Calligraphy Blog

Creativity From Chaos

Trials and Triumphs

Nyce and trewe accounte of Alesone, sugarwricht

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Life in a Southern Castle

Join Me In The Adventure!

Leofwyn's Adventures

Lady Leo's adventures in the Middle Ages and beyond

East Kingdom Gazette

Covering the Eastern Realm of the SCA

scribescribbling

A scadian scribe's experiences

Ca' d'Oro Salone

Renaissance Salon and Historical Apothecary

Anachronistic and Impulsive

Anna's Rome: A View of Ancient Rome and Byzantium in the Current Middle Ages

Rekon's Workshop

Medieval arts and how to make them

My Project Place

A place for me to keep thoughts, images, and information on my many grand costuming projects

