Project #1 ~ Chemise with Ruffle

While this is not my first project by any means it’s the first I’m tracking here. Yay! Now for the monumental let down…it’s a chemise. I’ve been dying to modify on so it has a bit of ruffle at the sleeve and neck.

The pattern I’ll be using is here: http://www.reddawn.net/costume/chemise.htm
It’s very simple and basic. The only difference is that instead of just foling the edges over and pasing elastic or ribbon though I’ll be folding a bit more over, say one inch, and stitching two rows. The ribbon will be passed between the two rows of stitching with the top part becoming the ruffle.

So the end product should look something like this: 

I’m going to be using 5 yards of tea-dyed 100% cotton muslin. I didn’t dye this myself but bought it this way thanks to Joann Fabrics for about $1.79/yard. I’ve washed and dried it on hot to make sure the next time I put it though as a finished garment it won’t shrink on me before anything. Then I’ve ironed it all out to make sure when I’m cutting it will come out even. 
Right now have everything cut out and pinned together and am going to sew it today. I’ll take pictures soon!
Categories: Chemise, Ruffle | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Ramblings of The Titanium Don

Explorations of Conscious Reality Creation and Other Matters

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Calligraphy Pen

The Calligraphy Blog

Creativity From Chaos

Trials and Triumphs

Nyce and trewe accounte of Alesone, sugarwricht

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Life in a Southern Castle

Join Me In The Adventure!

Leofwyn's Adventures

Lady Leo's adventures in the Middle Ages and beyond

East Kingdom Gazette

Covering the Eastern Realm of the SCA

scribescribbling

A scadian scribe's experiences

Ca' d'Oro Salone

Renaissance Salon and Historical Apothecary

Anachronistic and Impulsive

Anna's Rome: A View of Ancient Rome and Byzantium in the Current Middle Ages

Rekon's Workshop

Medieval arts and how to make them

My Project Place

A place for me to keep thoughts, images, and information on my many grand costuming projects

